Nikola Irmer White Specola Oel auf Leinen 2018

Admont Guests

Works by Nikola Irmer in the Museum of Natural History

This season, Admont Abbey's Museum of Natural History is housing works of contemporary art by Nikola Irmer in dialogue with the historical preparations there and the current special exhibition in the Museum of Contemporary Art.

Nikola Irmer White Specola Oel auf Leinen 2018
Nikola Irmer Hummingbirds walnut inkl. 1
Nikola Irmer Lemur Oel auf Leinen 2016 1

The artist, who was born in Germany, works internationally and has recently moved to Graz, was invited in the context of the "Styrian Roots" exhibition and the "ADMONT GUESTS" track which was established in 2011. A selection representative of drawings and paintings offers insights into the background of Nikola Irmer's series of works, which deal with nature and natural history collections in a variety of ways. The exhibited works are on loan from the artist. They show excerpts from zoological collections and their depots. They were not created in Admont, but arose from cooperation with other museums, including Oxford, Florence, Vienna, Berlin and Leiden.

In the course of her project research on natural history museums and their relationship to art, Nikola Irmer also came across Admont Museum and the Father Gabriel Strobl collections. “One of my projects is based on current issues such as the extinction of species and the generally endangered equilibrium between contemporary culture and nature,” says Nikola Irmer. She is particularly interested in the cultural history of collecting items and space in museums as a place for remembering and poeticising.

The ongoing project, presented in Admont this season on the basis of the ‘pars pro Toto’ principle, has been exhibited in various formats and institutions. It was part of the ‘Wordly House’ presented by Tue Greenfort at the dOCUMENTA (13) exhibition. In 2015, Friedenstein Palace in Gotha was the venue for an exhibition related to the local collections. In addition to numerous exhibitions, solo exhibitions were presented at the Kunsthalle Memmingen (2015) as well as in cooperation with the Kunstverein Kreuzlingen and the University of Constance (2017).

In any case, a future MADE-FOR-ADMONT project relating to the Abbey's own collections is under discussion.

 Nikola Irmer was born in 1970 in Starnberg/Germany and has lived and worked in Graz/Styria since 2020. She studied at the San Francisco Art Institute, the Glasgow School of Art and at Hunter College New York. In 2012, she took part in the dOCUMENTA (13) exhibition in Kassel. www.nikolairmer.com www.nikolairmer.com

Nikola Irmer White Specola Oel auf Leinen 2018

Admont Guests

Werke von Nikola Irmer im Naturhistorischen Museum

Im Naturhistorischen Museum des Stiftes Admont stehen in dieser Saison Werke aktueller Kunst von Nikola Irmer im Dialog mit den dortigen historischen Präparaten und der laufenden Sonderausstellung im Museum für Gegenwartskunst.

Nikola Irmer White Specola Oel auf Leinen 2018
Nikola Irmer Hummingbirds walnut inkl. 1
Nikola Irmer Lemur Oel auf Leinen 2016 1

Die Einladung der in Deutschland gebürtigen, international tätigen und vor kurzem nach Graz übersiedelten Künstlerin erfolgte im Kontext der Ausstellung „Steirische Wurzeln“ sowie der 2011 gegründeten „ADMONT GUESTS“-Schiene. Eine repräsentative Auswahl an Zeichnungen und Gemälden bietet Einblicke in die Hintergründe jener Werkserien Nikola Irmers, die sich auf vielfältige Weise mit dem Thema Natur und naturhistorischen Sammlungen beschäftigen. Die ausgestellten Werke sind Leihgaben der Künstlerin. Sie zeigen Ausschnitte aus zoologischen Sammlungen und deren Depots. Sie sind nicht in Admont entstanden, sondern entstammen der Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Museen u. a. in Oxford, Florenz, Wien, Berlin, Leiden.

Im Zuge ihrer Projektrecherchen zu Naturkundemuseen und deren Beziehung zur Kunst ist Nikola Irmer auch auf das Museum Admont und die Sammlungen von Pater Gabriel Strobl gestoßen. „Hintergrund eines meiner Projekte sind gegenwärtige Probleme wie das Artensterben und die generell gefährdeten Balancen zwischen Gegenwartskultur und Natur“, meint Nikola Irmer. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt der Kulturgeschichte des Sammelns und dem musealen Raum als Gedächtnis und poetischer Ort.

Das nach dem „Pars pro Toto“-Prinzip in dieser Saison in Admont vorgestellte fortlaufende Projekt wurde in verschiedenen Formaten und Institutionen ausgestellt. Es war Teil des von Tue Greenfort präsentierten „Wordly House“ auf der dOCUMENTA (13). Mit dem Schloss Friedenstein in Gotha wurde 2015 eine auf die dortigen Sammlungen bezogene Ausstellung realisiert. Neben zahlreichen Ausstellungsbeteiligungen fanden Einzelausstellungen unter anderem in der Kunsthalle Memmingen (2015) sowie in Kooperation mit dem Kunstverein Kreuzlingen und der Uni-Konstanz (2017) statt.

Ein künftiges MADE-FOR-ADMONT-Projekt mit Bezug zu den hauseigenen Sammlungen ist jedenfalls im Gespräch.

 Nikola Irmer geboren 1970 in Starnberg/Deutschland, lebt und arbeitet seit 2020 in Graz/Steiermark; Studium am San Francisco Art Institute, an der Glasgow School of Art und am Hunter College New York: 2012 Teilnahme an der dOCUMENTA (13) in Kassel. www.nikolairmer.com